Skip to content
Print Page Email Page PDF Version of Page

Nine Faculty Members Receive Teaching Excellence Awards

Nine UNC-Chapel Hill School of Dentistry faculty members have been named the first recipients of the Dean’s Excellence in Teaching Award.

Dean John N. Williams and Dr. Janet Guthmiller, associate dean for academic affairs, established the award to recognize dental school faculty who have demonstrated excellence in teaching. Department chairs nominate faculty members for the honor, and award recipients receive a one-time stipend of $1,500 toward teaching and professional development activities.

Williams and Guthmiller have asked that department chairs consider the effectiveness of individual instruction in nominating a faculty member. Instruction or teaching is broadly defined as classroom, preclinical and laboratory mentoring of students, as well as clinical teaching and teaching in extramural and community-based programs.

“When our faculty members invest fully in the academic lives of their students, they are investing in the advancement of oral health,” said Williams. “As is the case throughout campus, our faculty members strive for excellence in their teaching responsibilities. I hope this honor will further inspire our faculty members and demonstrate our gratitude for their commitment.”

Williams added that the awards would be presented on a yearly basis.

“We are very fortunate to have many excellent teachers in the School of Dentistry,” said Guthmiller. “Dean Williams and I appreciate the opportunity to thank this year’s award recipients for investing their time and talents in the education of our dental students.”

This year’s recipients are:

Posted: 10/12/2009