Skip to content
Print Page Email Page PDF Version of Page

Dental Alumni Association

UNCDAA Honors/Awards

Distinguished Alumni Award

Established in 2007, the Distinguished Alumni Award at the UNC School of Dentistry recognizes the alumnus/a who has brought credit to the School through significant and extraordinary contributions to the profession and/or their community. Emphasis given to alumni who work outside a full-time academic setting.

2013C. Frank Brantley III
2012Chuck Norman
2011Bettie McKaig
2009Delma Kinlaw
2008Stephen B. Mackler
2007Gavin G. Harrell

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award honors exceptional service to the School and the profession of dentistry as well as a significant impact on the Dental Alumni Association. The recipient is usually a graduate of the UNC School of Dentistry.

2014Joe H. Camp
2013C. Scott Davenport
2012Gene Howden
2011Ben Smith
2009Flynn Harris
2008Benjamin W. Brown
Rex B. Card
2007Ralph Leonard
2006Ken May
2005Charles Willis
2003Theodore M. Roberson
2002Greg Chadwick
2001Dale Finn
2000Jim Congleton
1999Larry Williams
1998Robert Outland, Jr.
1997John Stamm, Dean
1996Sue Pendergrass
1995Ken Morgan
1994Joe Camp
1994Henry Zaytoun, Sr.
1992Mathew T. Wood
1991Bettie McKaig
1990Jim Elliott, Jr.
1989Keith Bentley and Sandy C. Marks
1988Priscilla Allen
1986Dudley Chandler, Jr.

John C. Brauer Award

The John C. Brauer Award is named for the first dean of the UNC School of Dentistry and recognizes outstanding service to the UNC School of Dentistry. Eligible candidates include senior faculty and administrators of the School, alumni, or friends who have made outstanding contributions to the UNC School of Dentistry. This award typically recognizes a lifetime of service rather than one specific contribution. This award may be made annually.

2014Michael Wells Roberts
2013Aldridge D. Wilder Jr.
2012Bill Proffit
2011Bill Vann
2009Ed Kanoy
2008Clarence L. Sockwell
2007Harald Heymann
2006Sandy Madison
2005John Stamm
2003James C. Eagle Jr.
2002Kenneth Morgan Sr.
2001Morris Griffin
2000Ray White
1999Ted Roberson
1998John Jacoway
1997H.V. Murray
1996Jack Sowter
1995Troy B. Sluder, Jr.
1994Walter McFall
1992E.B. Tarrson
1991James Bawden
1987Baxter B. Sapp, Sr.
1986James Harrell, Sr.
1985Clifford Sturdevant

Honorary Lifetime Membership

An Honorary Lifetime Membership may be awarded to non-alumni the DAA Board wishes to recognize for service to the UNC School of Dentistry and the profession of dentistry in North Carolina.

2014C. Lee Sockwell
Jane A. Weintraub
2013E. Paul Gardner
2012Tim Wright
2011Dan Cheek
Kitty Tulloch
2009John N. Williams
2008Royce Montgomery
2007Stanley L. Allen, Jr.
2006Alec Parker
2005Karl Leinfelder
2003James A. Harrell, Jr.
2002John Jacoway
2001E. Jefferson Burkes
2000Stephen C. Bayne
1999Gary Oyster
1998Lee Sockwell
1997E.B. Tarrson & Robert Sherman
1996James Harrell, Sr.
1995Robert Plage and Jacob Freedland
1994Henry S. Zaytoun, Sr.
1992John Stamm and John Sowter
1987Shuford Abernethy
1987R. B. Barden
1986Charles Horton
1986J. H. Spillman
1985Nathan Schupper
1983The Keiter Dog
1982Ray White
1981David Dobson
1981Jack Shankle
1980Cliff Sturdevant
1976Grover Hunter
1970L. B. Higley
1966John C. Brauer

Posted: 03/26/2014