About Our School

Department of Dental Ecology


Department Manager
Shayna Hill

Phone: (919) 537-3574

Email: Shayna_Hill@unc.edu

Location: 467B Brauer Hall

Department of Dental Ecology
UNC School of Dentistry
Campus Box #7450
Chapel Hill, N.C. 27599-7450


Department Chair: Dr. Lauren Patton

What is Dental Ecology? We focus on the interaction of dentistry and the broader healthcare environment. We embody the best of synergy in dentistry!

Our department is the largest in the School of Dentistry with thematic Divisions of Dental Public Health, Behavioral Sciences, Craniofacial, Oral Medicine/Research, Special Needs (Geriatric and Hospital Dentistry), and Allied Dental Education, which includes dental assisting and dental hygiene. Our education, research and service activities take place both at the University and embedded within the surrounding and global community.

Our department was established in 1953 as the Department of Dental Practice Administration and Dental Science, chaired by Dr. Kermit Knudtzon. From the beginning our department has been responsible for fostering the relationships of the young professional to his patients, colleagues, peers, environment and society.

Please explore our various educational program and research areas where we are making a significant impact on improving both personal and public oral health.

Our motto: We achieve excellence through teamwork!